Grand Theft Auto 3: 10th Anniverary Trailer.


I can’t believe it’s been 10 years since the release of GTA3. This game ate countless hours of my life back in high school. I still remember the controversy that surrounded GTA3’s release. It was a level of controversy that only the original Mortal Kombat could relate to.

GTA3 is an open-world crime game set in Liberty City, a fictional version of New York city. The game was released just a month after the 9-11 attacks on NYC, so to say the tension level was high is an understatement. But that’s not what I truly remember about GTA3.

My fond memories are all about being completely immersed in Liberty City. Back in 2001, I was lost in the story of living a life of crime and it’s humor, violence and satire. I was lost in the freedom of having an entire fictional version of NYC to explore and cause chaos in without the real-life consequences. I was lost in the soundtrack with Royce da 5’9’s “I’m The King”  playing on the in-game car stereo.

GTA3 was one of the greatest games ever created. It is to open-world games, what street fighter II is to fighting games. GTA3 is legendary.

Happy 10th anniversary!

-VK-

Your thoughts?

