**Updated** The Experienced Listener Presents: Prevenge, by Bobby Creekwater


**Updated**  The Experienced Listener Presents:  Prevenge, by Bobby Creekwater

(My apologies to Creek and any readers happening by; the Revenge album has ALREADY been released.  It was slated for July 4th, 2011, not 2012.  Thanx to BC for the correction; if you haven’t already, GO COP THE ALBUM!! – The Experienced Listener)

If only Lil Wayne was a dictator…  If only Andre 3000 had no love below…  But everybody gotta be who they be.  And that’s cool, right?  Enter Bobby Creekwater.  I’ve been following Creek since his days working with my cousin Andre Ellis.  One thing I can say is that he’s for real; in other words, after more mixtapes than I’ve had the opportunity to obtain, he’s still going just as hard as he did on Anthem to the Streets Volumes 1 & 2.  And he’s still hungry; so hungry, in fact, that he dropped a mixtape, Prevenge, in anticipation of his album, Revenge, which was released July 4th, 2011.

Needless to say, I like this joint.  Otherwise, I wouldn’t be writing about it.  And what’s amazing here is that Creek gives you quality music on short notice; the project’s only got 11 tracks— some of which are interludes— and it lasts for a whopping 26:16.  But if you know me, I’m about quality, not quantity.  You everyday-low-prices, “obese and I’m lovin’ it”, assembly-line educated capitalist pigs…

Prevenge

Creek’s mixtape opens with The Arrival of Lord Wolfgang Creek, where he clarifies that he’s not in pursuit of honor as much as fear.  His flow is strictly business, with some wordplay, but not very many punchlines.  He doesn’t beat around the bush as he lyrically secures his perimeter:

I got my back against the wall; dick is in the dust/

N!ggas full  of sh!t, I tell ‘em all flush/

They bark too loud; I tell ‘em all hush/

Or they gon hafta deal with all us/

Over the timpani in the background, you perceive the image of Creek ascending to his throne:

You now what it is, and you know why I’m here/

I fear no man; I treat ‘em like they clear/

Though I hate to admit it, track two on Prevenge, This Changes Everything , has a very Lil Wayne feel to it.  At least on the chorus.  But once Creek gets to the verse, he departs from the wheezy sound of Weezy and gets back to his natural style.

I do not f#ck with strangers and my friends make me nervous/

Cuz they f#ck up on the regular and say it’s not on purpose/

I don’t doubt that they got love, and I know we close-knit/

But see envy’s an emotion that no one wants to admit/

Ain’t that some sh!t…/

I love that series because it remains in character. Wolfgang Creek shows a somewhat paranoid side, typical of dictators from Napoleon to Stalin.  And you personally don’t know his situation, so you don’t know if his fear is irrational or to be expected.  Which just adds to the intrigue.

He comes back with this finish to the second verse:

Let’s get one thing clear man, BGOV we here man/

And f#ck yo verse, just chill man; cuz ye aint’ gon make it rappin/

I don’t have faith in ya writin; but ya might be the sh!t at clappin/

And  all yo sh!t is so-so; and all yo n!ggas gassin/

And all my n!ggas laughin’; and I’m so everlastin’/

And my new car is so white; the sh!t look just like Asp’in/

And my new loft is so tight; that’s why the bad b!tches be crashin/

And I’m so on my j-o; but I credit that to passion/

N!gga why be the first out; if you gon be the last in…/

One thing that I love about Bobby Creekwater is that his instrumental selection is habitually different than most mainstream southern rappers— from most mainstream rappers period, with the exception of the latest manifestation of Jay-Z, backed by Kanye West’s production.  Track 3, Come Closer, progresses over a marching rhythm with a faint “HOo!” keeping time in the background.  It’s not a long track, but Wolfgang gets right to the point like a samurai on the draw; the intro even has the phrase, “When you hafta shoot, shoot, don’t talk.  Creekwater fires off:

Why validate the mediocre; you niggas so double-comp mocha…/

So muf#ckin disrespectful, cup on the table, no coaster/

I am the dictator; come closer…/

I Thought You’d Never Ask comes to life over a string section that will resonate with any 80’s babies listening.  The song addresses the three questions that Creek most anticipates people asking him: 1)  Where has he been;  2)  Why did he part ways with some of his previous affiliates; 3) When is the album dropping.  For the first question, he refers to his politicking and promoting his music amongst other major talents.  Regarding the second, he alludes not being able to trust many people and avoiding some affiliates in order to keep from being involved in their legal issues.  Finally, pertaining to the third question, he merely indicates that his [legitimate] material is available via his blogsite.

Reminder:  As far as I’ve been told, Revenge is slated for July 4th, 2012.  Don’t shoot the messenger.

The next track features Charlie Skrill over yet another dope instrumental.  (Don’t it seem like dope instrumentals come a-dime-a-dozen nowadays?)  With a relaxing blaxploitation love theme in the background, Grand Standing brings yet another Weezyish chorus, this time even with some autotune action.  But, coupled with a phat bassline, the autotune makes for a track that’s, all-in-all, very smooth.  How smooth?  Well, if you’re like me, you can picture Keith Sweat goin’ in on this chorus:

I wanna live like this, do it like that/

Hustle-hustle, grind, then get it right back/

C’mon… I’m so own…/

Cause I’m on… I’m so own/

So how is the Dictator living?  Apparently, better than a GA Public School educator, tell ya that much.  Peep:

Fresh pair of Nikes; no Reeboks…/

Every color… n!gga peacock/

We blowin zip, the bell boy say we smell/

I’m headed back to the beach to count sea shells/

Who got that P.U.?  N!gga we do/

Some good girls gone bad rockin’ see-thru/

A Playstation, Xbox, we got every game/

A condo with remote control everything?/

Uno momento let me get my sh!t goether/

I got hundreds, fifties, twenties, let me put my sh!t together/

At first she said she stayin’, I said she don’t know no better/

Then she tambout, “Where we goin?”;  I said, “Shawty, it’s wherever…”/

…I shoulda been a dictator.

On Demand bring yet ANOTHER sweet instrumental.  But this one… it makes you feel like you’ve gotta be driving a certain quality of whip to listen to it.  Like, if you ain’t ridin’ luxury, you can’t feel appropriate playing this.  Especially when the sax comes in on Creek’s verse.  Check this out:

…We so f#cking dépêche mode/

Cool as a muthaf#ckin Eskimo…/

I really like this lil excerpt.  Why?  Because it’s hard to conjure up a pair of lines like that unless it’s coming from experience.  And that’s what you get listening to Creek; similar to Mr. Al Pete, Creek brings a certain sincerity to the table that you just don’t get from a lot of other MCs.  Speaking of other MCs, the featured artists GLC and Killer Kyleon really add some dope elements to this track; the energies of Slim Thug and Pimp C emanate from their deliveries and amplify the “pimp” in this song.  You will press repeat…

Track 9, Everywhere, sticks to the same formula as the rest of the mixtape:  dope beat, dope lyrics, straight to the point.  Nevermind the autotuned chorus on this track; check the rhyme out:

A young dictator, in all his splendor/

Upside down happy face for you pretenders/

And f#ck everybody, even if we doing dinner/

I regret to inform you, it’s always an agenda/

Never a dull moment; she was never a virgin/

Somebody cut the h0e cuz we a clique of brain surgeons/

Holier than thou, I could probably rock a turban/

Way too deep, we gotta ride Suburban/

Way too intelligent to let you n!ggas get me/

I make money 365, so f#ck a 360… ya get me?/

Again, Wolfgang is strictly business.  His kindness is political; his callous is hard work.  And by these means, Creek anticipates that his music will permeate the masses like a hot comb.  (…Ya’ll feel that?  Yeah?  No?  Aight.)

The final track on the mixtape is Bravo, featuring one of my favorite artists, Kardinal Offishall.  The last time I heard these two together was on the song I Hate You Too alongside Mickey Factz; here they reunite over yet another unique and grandiose instrumental.  The Dictator makes known his ambitions:

You see, I need these bad b!tches to cheer for me/

Let every artist in the art cut off an ear for me/

Cuz for a long time now, I’ve been dedicated/

And if you can’t respect that, you’ve been medicated/

After the Dictator, the Kardinal— I guess that makes him the Pope in this equation— contributes with his investiture:

I’m embarrassed by they newfound bravery/

They ain’t sold out like that since black slavery/

N!gga cut your Achilles and gon’ walk it out/

I am the hope Obama was talkin bout/

The overall consensus of the track is that Wolfgang and the Kardinal exist to keep the lyrics potent, the grind honest, and the work quality.  They have no tolerance for cheaply made music or undeserved recognition.  And on those tenets I can definitely co-sign.  It’s a shame that an 11-track mixtape preview to an album is more worthy of a listen than a lot of MC’s fully-committed albums.

All in all, this project is… Prevenge.  It’s a solid intro theme to an epic movie of an album called Revenge.  It’s the crumbs from a king’s table; not the final product, but enough to create the anticipation so that the final product can be rightly appreciated.  And since that final product has already dropped… I think we all should take heed to the Dictator and cop Revenge.

Your thoughts?

