Google’s New Policy and How to Delete Your Browsing History before it Happens


Google is taking over?! Who knows. I’ve been hearing this a lot lately with Google’s new web browsing policy. According to this random article I found on Digital Journal, Didymus, a regular digital journalist, research states:

Tech News Daily reports that once Google’s new unified privacy policy takes effect all data already collected about you, including search queries, sites visited, age, gender and location will be gathered and assigned to your online identity represented by your Gmail and YouTube accounts. After the policy takes effect you are not allowed to opt out without abandoning Google altogether. But now before the policy takes effect, you have the option of deleting your Google Web History by modifying your settings so that Google is unable to associate data collected about you with your Gmail or YouTube accounts.

Crazy right? As if you can’t find enough information on someone now. Some people are freaking out, scared out of their minds and even going to the extent of saying “NO MORE GOOGLE USAGE.” My thoughts, yeah right! [LOL] Folks today can’t leave without the internet. It may open up to try new search engines but that’ll be temporarily. If you’re worried about this new policy, then you should be your Facebook. Facebook allows you to find the same information there. #JMT (Just My Thoughts)

However, for those that would like to protect their information from Google and the masses, the following steps have been provided:

1. Go to the Google Home Page and sign into your account.

2. Click the dropdown menu next to your name in the upper-right hand corner of your screen.

3. Click “Accounts Settings”

 4. Find the “Services” Section

5. Under “Services”, there is a sub-section that reads “View, enable, disable web history.” Click the link next to it that reads: “Go to Web History.”

6. Click on “Remove all Web History”

After you’ve selected “Remove All Web History”, it will “Pause” all web history collection. Now, if you notice something that states “Turn on Web History” that means nothing has been stored and it was never turned on. There is an option once paused to resume, if you wish. Google will then collect and store all your information, share it and customize each of your searched items to future searches. The new policy is said to be in effect March 1, 2012.
Source: Digital Journal

Advertisements

Your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s